top of page
  • Ana Monfared

My Battery Operated Mind


The walls of my bedroom have become

both a sanctuary and a prison.



My bed,

the sacred place

where my heart drowns

in its own anatomy


no one speaks here


The days have stretched themselves thin

only measurable in deadlines I have missed


my capability to care, soiled

to capability to exist, further soiled down

to capability to survive


and everyone knows lately I have barely been doing just that.



If I’m being honest

I do not remember the last time I was hungry

or ate a full meal



I have lost 15 pounds in the past month and no one has noticed I get my ‘abs’ from panic attacks and sleep paralysis where I wake up sweating



I am genuinely unsure how much longer

this can be my reality without it killing me


I ask it like a genuine question

hands raised sky high in the empty classroom of my brain


Is this what you call courage?

My ability to continue living, regardless of how pathetically?



I’ve started fainting due to stress

the doctors worry they are seizures

they keep giving me new medications, meant

to cure my battery operated mind

They aren’t sure if its Borderline Personality Disorder, Anxiety, Bipolar Disorder, Depression, ADHD, Complex PTSD or all of the above but what they all know is that there is something off


My mood swings both give me life and take it away from me

getting out of bed makes me feel claustrophobic

my anxiety makes me vomit in the mornings and

I can’t remember the last time I went through a week without a panic attack but if you ask I will tell you


I had a great morning!

If you ask again I will tell you

Living really scares me these days.




and it’s never been about not wanting to be alive

I just don’t want to be alive like this


but the fighter in me always knows how to muster up more

there is love and liquid courage bouncing around

in my veins even when I don’t feel it, it is

rooting for me always.


The bees in my brain haven’t stopped buzzing even after

all of these years and even in the thickest of it

tomorrow always pulls me aside to tell me she has

saved a special spot for me in the future

she tells me


one day, this hurricane of a mind that you have been both

cursed and blessed with will finally grant you permission to live with it

but you won’t know what that feels like unless you are alive to experience it


I have to believe

one day soon I will be alive

and experiencing it.



 

Anahita Monfared (she/they) is a queer and Iranian Vancouver based actress, dancer and poet! Her poetry explores mental illness, sexual assault/violence, masturbation, healing (and more) through an unapologetic feminist lens.


Featured art by Rue Mader

Recent Posts

See All

Muchness

bottom of page