top of page
  • Sana Zia

Two Poems by Sana Zia


Poem 1:


Locked the doors

And swallowed the keys


If there is to be consumptions of my beginnings

I’d rather have it root from within the pit of my belly


- “mother, kill her.”



Poem 2:


The guilt

Was so quiet

And so polite

To invite me over for dinner


We had a feast.

I sat and ate and ate and ate and ate

Until I was so full of quiet

That I became guilt himself


And now my breath freezes as it leaves my mouth

Now whatever I touch leaves a trail of dust

When I eat all I taste is heat

And all I can think of

Is to sleep

In remorse


  • “you are what you eat”


 

Sana Zia (she/her) is an 18 year old Persian writer and artist based in Dubai, the United Arab Emirates. These poems circulate around a rather tense period of her life where, she felt exiled to people around her and the person she loved. Being in the same room as the person you love that resents you is enough to suffocate time, space and how they present themselves. Simple imagery when pressed on has enough influence to communicate how she felt to a reader without explicitly describing it. Read the words carefully. And as the image plays out; you will slowly feel what I felt too.

Recent Posts

See All

Muchness

bottom of page