top of page
  • Iqra Abid

Staff Interview: Shaki Sutharsan, Editor

Shaki Sutharsan (she/her) is a nineteen-year-old, Tamil, Canadian writer based in Toronto, Ontario. She is an Editor for Kiwi Collective and writes for her blog, the Kutti Corner, in her free time. Shaki is currently navigating the beginning of a career in writing as a woman of colour, striving to seek and contribute to a more authentic representation of BIPOC artists and creators in media. We spoke to her about what first sparked her interest in writing and how her writing draws from her experiences as a woman of colour.


How long have you been writing?


SUTHARSAN: I’ve been writing since I was 8, I think. I remember having to complete a project about my city in Grade 3 for my social studies class and I had written a simile comparing the months of heavy snowfall that we’d get in Toronto to a comforting blanket, and my teacher at the time and parents had gushed over it, which I hadn’t given much thought to at the time, thinking, “well, how else would I describe Toronto in winter?” I started writing more seriously when I was 13 after finishing the entire Harry Potter series the summer before and not very satisfied with the ending of the Half-Blood Prince. So, I figured I’d write my own ending, and I started writing fan fiction then, which opened up a realm of possibilities and also allowed me to experiment with my writing in a safe space. Since then, I’ve written poetry, short stories, more fan fiction, scripts, articles, and new blog posts. As someone who has struggled with anxiety and feeling like I’m always on the outside looking in, writing is a way for me to express myself articulately and creatively without judgement. I’m constantly learning and improving in this thing that I do, and that’s what draws me to it so much.


What pulls you or inspires you to write?


SUTHARSAN: I find a lot of inspiration from my own experiences as well as other artists who are phenomenal at whatever it is that they do, whether it be writing, creating YouTube videos, acting, producing music, or comedy. Whenever I undergo an experience that I have difficulty coming to terms with or coping with, I turn inwards to my words in order to work through whatever it is I am going through. Part of it is to confront it head-on and write situations where my characters are feeling parallel emotions, but other times I just like to write about my favourite comfort characters from popular media doing mundane things just because it makes me happy. Writing with myself as the only audience is both extremely cathartic as well as a way to leave my mark on this world, no matter how small that may be. The idea that I can write something that transcends borders, age, languages and even time, and help somebody to feel more connected is why I write.


As a young writer and as a young reader, was there ever a moment where you wished you saw yourself being represented in the media you consumed?


SUTHARSAN: For a really long time, I honestly didn’t question the lack of representation in the books I was reading when I was younger because it was so normalized in all the popular media that I consumed at the time. I think it was really in high school when I started thinking, “hey, stories like mine are worth telling too.” It’s still so rare that a series or a YA novel centred around the experiences of a person of colour achieves the immense popularity of series like Harry Potter or Percy Jackson & the Olympians, which is disheartening.


How has that feeling impacted your writing?


SUTHARSAN: I find that as a result, my writing today has a large focus on the voices that are often pushed away in favour of those that are more familiar. Whether that’s fictional pieces with main characters who are BIPOC or from other marginalized groups, poetry about my parents’ experiences fleeing from genocide, or articles about anti-Black racism in South Asian communities, I try to amplify the voices of those who are often unheard in mainstream media.


With the mention of her most recent article, I am reminded of my next question. Sutharsan has recently started a blog called the “Kutti Corner” to spark conversations surrounding current world events and to provide anti-racism resources and support. The name “Kutti” comes from the Tamil word meaning “tiny” and is often used as a nickname for children. As she learns to navigate the world, this nickname serves as a comforting reminder that she will always be her mother’s daughter - a symbol of her loving relationship with her mother as well as a grounding call back to her roots.


Do you have a specific goal in mind for the Kutti Corner?


SUTHARSAN: The purpose of Kutti Corner is connection. The majority of blogs that I’ve interacted with are very formulaic and I’ve had a hard time feeling like I could relate to their content. Those blogs are extremely valuable, but I’ve always craved that brutally honest perspective that I wasn’t really getting anywhere. I created Kutti Corner (literally translating into “Tiny Corner”) as a safe space for me to share my own difficult experiences and things that I’ve been learning and unlearning, in order to validate and encourage those who are experiencing similar things in their own lives. My goal is to establish Kutti Corner as a safe space for connection and learning.


Shaki Sutharsan’s first blog post briefly tackles the issue of colourism as a stepping stone to opening up conversations on anti-Blackness and racism within South Asian communities. A sweet and short read, Sutharsan craftily guides her audience through the steps of sparking these much-needed conversations with splashes of marvellous imagery and compassion. Visit her Instagram @kutticorner and give her piece “How to Talk to Your Non-Black Immigrant Parents About Racism” a read.


Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page