top of page
  • Shaki Sutharsan

Staff Interview: Iqra Abid, Editor in Chief

Iqra Abid (she/her) is an eighteen-year-old, Pakistani, Canadian writer based in Hamilton, Ontario. She is the founder and Editor in Chief of Kiwi Collective, a digital arts publication by and for Black, Indigenous, people of colour (BIPOC.) In this interview, we got to speak to her about her thought process behind the formation of Kiwi Collective and her creative development as a writer.


What compelled you to start the Kiwi Collective Magazine?


ABID: The idea for the Kiwi Collective came from a place of frustration. At first, I was asking myself why the most accessible art is created by white artists. Then, I was asking myself why I was choosing to be complacent and consume that media while simultaneously complaining about the lack of BIPOC representation in mainstream art. I wasn’t actively making a change just by complaining, I needed to look for the art I was asking for because I knew it existed, it just wasn’t made by famous, rich white people. So, around two years ago, I made a commitment to myself to actively search for the BIPOC representation that I felt deprived of. I started with music by curating my Spotify, searching for artists of colour making music that I enjoyed. This was a turning point for me because even though I had to dig through so many artist profiles, obscure playlists, ‘similar artists’ lists, my Spotify was suddenly a welcoming space where I could witness incredible art being made by people of colour. It felt encouraging and comforting. The music I was listening to felt inspiring again. I was able to relate to these artists, to the songs they were making again -a feeling that I hadn’t noticed I had been missing for years. The next thing I knew, I was curating my social media too, searching for shows with diverse casts and books written by women of colour. But honestly, it shouldn’t be like that, it shouldn’t be so difficult to engage with artwork made by artists of colour. That’s where the concept of a digital arts publication by and for BIPOC came from. I was upset with how difficult it was to find creators of colour and support their work because of the lack of coverage, time and resources spent on uplifting non-white artists. Kiwi Collective was created because I was sick of not seeing artists of colours be appreciated for their creativity and labour.


Why is it important to you to have a publication that prioritizes BIPOC creatives?


ABID: I think that there is a popular misconception that there aren't many Black, Indigenous, or other people of colour interested in creative industries and that’s not true at all. The problem isn’t that there aren’t enough Black, Brown, Asian, or Indigenous artists, it’s that their voices and work get buried- they are given fewer opportunities and/or resources to showcase or even develop their skills. The way that racism infiltrates these spaces suppresses our voices, our abilities, and creates toxic work environments where we are constantly forced to face microaggressions and blatant bigotry (which often goes unaddressed by those in charge). It’s important to me to have an arts publication that exclusively focuses on the work of Black and brown folks because we deserve safe spaces to express our creativity, to hone our talents and share them with others who need to feel heard and seen. I want Kiwi Collective to be a platform that uplifts and supports minority voices, creating safe spaces and (eventually) paid opportunities for them. Of course, we’re not the first to do this. I was inspired by a variety of other platforms like Ashamed Magazine and more recently, Tradition Magazine and Hush Harbour Press. However, my vision with the Kiwi Collective is to create a platform specifically for creators of colour based in Canada by keeping our quarterly zines closed to Canada based BIPOC artists (general submissions and mini-zine submissions are open internationally).


What has been the most challenging aspect of starting a publication so far?


ABID: I think that all aspects of running a publication are difficult in the beginning. There is so much research, trial and error, promotion and planning that takes place. It can get really overwhelming, especially if you’re like me and tend to come up with too many plans to keep track of! But if I really had to pick, I think the hardest thing has been creating our website. It has definitely been the most time-consuming, but rewarding, task of all so far.


Who has been a guiding light or a source of inspiration (or both) for you throughout the various creative processes of your life?


ABID: Growing up, I was definitely influenced by my older sisters. I don’t think I would be half as passionate about music, reading books, writing, even painting and drawing, if it weren’t for them. They definitely introduced various art forms to me like books, writing, sketching, music, etc. So, I think it's fair to say that they have been a guiding light for me creatively. Of course, as a little girl, I would have done anything to impress and be like my older sisters. I thought I could convince them that I was smart by reading a lot. I copied them and started keeping my own diary and writing stories. I watched them play instruments from middle school all the way through high school and knew that I would do the same.


Naturally, I stopped doing those things for them and started to have my own interests. I started consuming different media; books they didn’t read, shows they didn’t watch, and music they hated (One Direction.) Instead of keeping a regular diary, I started art journaling. I also got really into poetry. In that sense, my inspiration has always been what was happening around me and is deeply rooted in the media I consume. I guess that’s why I have been so determined to be intentional with what media I engage with and what artists I choose to support. If we’re being specific, I look up to writers like Safia Elhillo, bell hooks, Audre Lorde, Fatimah Asghar, Fariha Roisin, Anne Carson, Richard Siken; writers like my friends Anesha Christie, Makha Zia, Aicha Issa; songwriters like Mitski, FKA twigs, Halsey, Kelsey Lu, Florence Welch.


What is the driving force behind your writing?


ABID: Writing for me is a creative outlet. As I mentioned before, I started writing by keeping a diary. So, writing has always been a vulnerable act of saying everything I am too afraid to say out loud, as well as a method of memorializing different periods of my life. I think that this is definitely an evident aspect of my poetry and in some of my prose. Writing can also be a coping mechanism for me, especially as someone who struggles with depression. I find that it’s a healthy way for me to process, express and reflect on my emotions and memories.


You can find Iqra Abid’s poetry in multiple magazines such as Stone Fruit Magazine, Tiny Spoon Lit Magazine, Scorpion Magazine, or on her Instagram account, @thesunbelongstothestars.


Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page